BACG Young Scientists Award

The BACG has established this annual award to recognise achievement by young scientists publishing work in the field of crystal growth. The winner will receive a cheque for £300 and an engraved medal. They will present the work as an invited talk in BACG 2024, after which the formal presentation of the award will be made by the President of the BACG during the conference.

The award is made annually to the candidate achieving the most significant advance in the understanding of the theory, practice or characterisation of crystal growth processes published in the scientific literature in the previous three calendar years.



Award Criteria

Entries, which are not restricted to members of the BACG, should be based on research carried out in a laboratory in the United Kingdom or the Republic of Ireland or by a UK or ROI national working overseas.

Candidates should be within 15 years* or less from the award of their first degree, at the time of the annual meeting. The work should be submitted in the form of a single paper carrying an acceptance date prior to the 15th anniversary of their first degree diploma. The candidate should nominate a suitable referee (Head of Department, supervisor or line manager) who may be contacted to comment on the paper and on the extent of the candidate's contribution to the work.

The entries are judged by the president of the BACG who may consult widely with national and international experts in the particular area of the entry to ensure that the work of the successful candidate is of the highest quality. BACG reserves the right not to award the prize in any particular year in which entries are deemed not have reached a sufficiently high standard.

The winner will present their work in a plenary session at the BACG Annual Conference and will receive a free conference and reasonable travel expenses in addition to the award.

Persons wishing to submit nominations for the award should forward a single publication together with supporting material to


*Years that nominees missed from research due to maternity leave, health issues, or other reasons (contact us if you are not sure), will not count.

Previous Award Winners


Lorenzo Metilli - University of Leeds


Guo Mingxia - Imperial College London




Vaselina Marinova - University of Sheffield




Mark Holden - University of Leeds




Sarah Guerin - University of Limerick


David C. Green University of Leeds

3-D visualization of additive occlusion and tunable full spectrum fluorescence in calcite, Nature communications 2016,  13524 DOI:10.1038/ncomms13524 


Rachel Sullivan University of Manchester


Kumar Khamar University of Limerick

Investigating the role of solvent-solute interaction in crystal nucleation of salicylic acid from organic solvents Journal Of the american Chemical society, 136, 11664, 2014


James Atkins University of Leeds

The importance of feldspar for ice nucleation by mineral dust in mixed-phase clouds, Nature  498, 355–358 2013 DOI:10.1038/nature12278


Kevin Back University of Manchester



Colin Seaton University of Limerick



Joanna Stevens University of Manchester

XPS studies of proton transfer in molecular crystals



Andrew Bond University of Southern Denmark

The remarkable polymorphism of aspirin



Benjamin J. Murray University of Leeds

The inhibition of ice crystalisation and formation of metastable ice in atmospherically relevant aqueous solutions.



Catherine E. Nicholson Durham University

Direct measurement of critical nucleus size in confined volumes.



Michelle A. Moram University of Cambridge

Growth of low disclocation density GaN using novel ScN interlayers.



Fabien Silly University of Oxford


Chun Min Chew  University of Sheffield


Carolyn Koh Kings College London

Mechanisms of crystal growth of gas hydrates


Jonathan Hayes   University of Bristol



Papa Kofi Boateng King's College London

Computer Simulation of Crystallization from Solution, J. Amer. Chem. Soc., 1998, 120, 9600-9604


Mashud U. Ahmed NEWI

Mechanism for photo-assisted MOVPE nitrogen doping of ZnSe


Nicholas Blagden UMIST


Tin Cheng Nottingham University


Mark Aindow Birmingham University

Nominate an Awardee

Persons wishing to submit nominations for the award should forward a single publication with supporting material to the following email address: